grass of the fields

There’s a very comforting feeling knowing that after I leave, after we all leave, that the people here will still lift song and praise to their God. That they will still come before Him as children long after any of us are around. And that’s good to know. Good to know that i am indeed a wisp: here today and gone tomorrow. That people have been singing these songs for years and decades and for some, centuries.
These past few weeks having weird feelings in my throat has probably made me more aware of corporate worship. Sometimes I wonder what I’d do without my voice if I happened to have some kind of cancer and my vocal cords had to be altered. And as scary as it is and as much as I wouldn’t be able to rally people at camp, I realize that maybe it will be so. I’m a little too comfortable with the sound of my own voice anyway. It’s the sense that yes, I may be gifted with some things. But these too shall pass. For the time being, I will use them in whatever way I can to build up the church whether that be baking or cleaning or even buying an extra pizza here and there. But when God decides to take those away, He will set another task for me. For I am just a wisp: here today and gone tomorrow.
I think of the judges in the old testament. They were called and led the whole of the Israelites for probably a lot of years. A lot probably happened and they probably said and did some great things. And yet, they get maybe one line in a list of many. Some may say they were even lucky to get a mention. Because in the end it was never meant to show that man had any glory. No, the recurring character is God.

Leave a comment